The Hastings Bowling Club has been in continous operation since the inaugural meeting took place in May 1953.
The current Coles Supermarket location in King Street, was the site for the original club and was built by the members under the guidance of a registered builder and club member.
By July 1954, the lawn bowls green had been constructed and the club rooms nearly completed.
Lights over the green were constructed in 1958 and were used until 1972, when they were de-commissioned for safety reasons.
The first Pennant was won in 1967 and started a rich tradition of competitive lawn bowls, that continues to this day.
In 1977, following the sale of King Street and negotiations with the then Council, a new Clubhouse was established on the present site. (Battery Point)
The first Pennant match was played at the site in February of that year.
As with all clubs, there has been a lot of material effort over the years by both the men and women members, without whom the Club would be a much lesser place.
Not only are the members and the management team present custodians of these excellent lawn bowling facilities, but of future generations as well.
Let us hope that our future will mirror the efforts of the past and take us to new heights with our bowls traditions and within the vibrant Hastings community.